施与受 receive and give

两天前收到了公司派发的中秋月饼和一个小红包,感到欣喜,因为这是我工作以来,第一次收到公司的员工福利。嘻嘻!好开心啊,有月饼吃还有money花……听同事说,到春节时,公司也会派红包,还有员工的生日礼金……哇!原来所谓的员工福利就是这样的,呵呵,我可是乐坏了。还记得去年暑假和《亚洲华尔街快报》的记者就员工待遇与就业困难等问题,走访了珠三角的企业与工厂。我还采访了一些来广东打工的打工仔和打工妹,有时他们讲起自己家庭的困境时,讲到鼻子也酸了。哎!当时我真的好感动,小小年纪就离乡背井打工,外资(包括台资、港资和三资)企业的员工福利还算人性化--工作有空调、包吃包住、有假期有奖金,一间Adidas(阿迪达斯)鞋厂还为员工提供心理医生进行心理辅导。对于这些家境困难的打工一族来说,这点恩惠已算不错了。现在我也加入到打工一族的行列来啦!现在才真真切切地尝到打工仔获得员工福利的甜滋滋的幸福……这也算是给我的采访添上真情实感的一笔吧!
 
施与受是相对的。中秋佳节快到了,今年是我工作后的第一个中秋节,我兴致勃勃地买了两盒月饼送给一直关心我成长的伯父和姑妈。用自己赚来的钱去买礼物送给别人,这个意义对我很重要。爸爸的生日刚好也在中秋节后的第一天,我也掏钱给他买来了礼物。本来想在他生日那天才送给他礼物,可是我等不及啦……哎,我这人就是这样一个急性子,老想把事情完成了一劳永逸。 爸爸收到礼物应该很高兴,我想。他也是个急性子(我想我遗传了他这性格,嘻嘻!),昨晚就穿着我送给他的皮鞋到我姑妈家送月饼去了,呵呵!我当然很开心啦,原来偶尔送送礼,逗逗人,可以增添彼此的了解。我也觉得工作后的我与长辈们聊天多了些话题--都是围绕着工作来聊的。怎么也好,俗话说得好--“施比受更为有福”,我想我开始明白为什么小时候老见父母和亲朋戚友吃完饭后,争着结帐了。哎……又是工作令我变得世故。
 
Better to give than receive. In Chinese, we have the same saying. (I’m not sure if this saying comes from the western world or China first.) I don’t understand this until I work. A couple of days ago, I received a box of mooncake and a red packet from our company. They are the gift for the coming Mid-Autumn Day. I was so happy to receive the gifts because it was the first time I shared the employee benefits. Last summer I travelled the Pearl-River-Delta with Mei, a reporter from Asian Wall Street Journal, to interview workers about their benefits and living conditions. At that time, I was touched by the true stories of the workers, some of whose age were even younger than me. I interviewed them and was led to see what we were allowed to see in the factories. Today, I am a full-time working girl, and now I understand how important it means to the staff when receiving the concern and care from the bosses. It’s really a matter of humaneness. Perhaps the more they receive, the more they are willing to give (to contribute to the factory). Of course, my understanding adds into my interview with the migrant workers.
 
I spent my salary on two boxes of mooncakes and a few birthday gifts for my Dad. The coming Mid-Autumn Day and my Dad’s birthday (one day after the holiday) will be the first ones since I stepped into the working industry. It means a lot to me to buy gifts and send them to the ones who I respect the most and who care about my growth very much. I couldn’t wait giving the gifts to my dad–and Dad also couldn’t wait wearing the pair of shoes I got him. He did wear them to my aunt’s last night . I guess he’s happy; my aunt and uncle were happy; and I was happy, too. Yes, it’s a pleasure to see how appreciative receivers are. I like receiving–I like that surprise, that joy and the laughter or smile on the giver’s face; since I work, I also like giving–I appreciate that surprise, that exhilaration and the sweetness inside my heart. Gradually, I get to understand why Mom and Dad often wanna get the bill first when having dinner with friends and relatives. Haha, I ponder work has made me more sophisticated…
Leave a Reply

