Opera Night–La Traviata

It was so cozy when lying down in bed that I was kinda lax to update my space. I returned home early after a wonderful night at the concert hall. After catching some Zzzs, I start writing something here…
 
The first setting of my memory was in the theatre–very direct, just like in the movie "Moulin Rouge" the curtain was up for the spectacular show. The opera I watched had no props and background but did have a fantastic symphonic orchestra from Guangzhou, a team of Shanghai Opera House Chorus, a Polish conductor Klaus Weise who was brought up in Berlin and several super stars as the key roles of the play. The opera singers were all Chinese except the soprano who acted as Violetta was from the Republic of Armenia–a country that I had no clue where it was until I googled it. Overall, the concert was great. Since I have seen the opera DVDs in my vocal music elective course. The male singers could memorize the lyrics while Violetta seemed to need the help of the lyric book. But she was great and well-dressed too. The tenor who acted as the lover of Violetta was a famous singer–Warren Mok. I saw him in a singing program on TVB Jade a couple week ago. He was born in Beijing, then moved to HongKong at 7 and later immigrated to the USA with his family. I personally liked the baritone who acted as Alfredo’s father. My music teacher once said a good baritone was rare to find in the opera world. Baritone’s vocal is unique, when he sings loud enough, it sounds a bit like a lion king roaring. The baritone Liao Changyong gave a great performance last night. In the DVDs, there were many guests in the party while the Shanghai Opera House Chorus sang the vocal part of the guests last night.    
 
Besides watching a complete opera live was a new experience to me, I also encounterd new things. I had a convenient-location seat which was just several steps away from the entrance and there was a wider space for me to stretch my feet. At first, I thought the bar in front of me would block my vision. But I adjusted my position and I could see well from this new spot which I had never sat before. I brought my binoculars–they helped a lot!!!  Not only could I see the subtitle clearly but also the facial expression of the singers–they were all so close to me through the binoculars. I could even see the music in front of the violinists–so many tadpoles swimming among five lines. And the book in front of the conductor was as thick as a Holy Bible. Although there was not much space for the singers to perform, their devoted emotion made up for all the disadvantages of the stage. I enjoyed seeing their facial expressions even though the Italian was all Greek to me. I seemed to follow what they said! Amazing, wasn’t it? Since I was so close to the exit, the moment when the opera was just finished, I could slip away from the concert hall easily before the crowd coming out afterwards. Well, there were also a few audience thinking alike–they were rushing to the staircase. I had never been so early to leave the concert hall. When I was walking down the stairs in a hurry, I felt like being in the Cinderalla fairy tale that Cinderalla was leaving before the clock was about to strike. However, I wore a pair of blue and black sneakers but not glass shoes. They helped me run fast though. I knew why some people were rushing when I got to the ground floor of the concert hall–some people were already queuing up for autographs for the great singers. On the other side, several staff were selling the CDs of "La Traviata" and the singers’ CDs. I left the concert hall and grabbed the cab immediately. That was an early-return-home night!!! Hee hee
One thought on “Opera Night–La Traviata

  1. how are you ar?? i haven\’t got ur mail yet a……did u write the right address?hahahhaaahahope ur fine

Leave a Reply

