Holland–my dreamland

I spent two days immersing myself totally in the groovy snapshots of the Netherlands. Those which I selected to my space album are just a small portion out of many. Holland–a place that I have been dreaming of in my life. If not because of the assignment from the English writing class in my sophomore year, I wouldn’t had recognized such a heavenly nation on this planet. This time is my second visit to this country in the virtual world. It is familiar and fresh to me at the same time. The flat land, the tulips, the windmills, the canals, the cheese, the bicycles…everything is breathtaking!!! Holland is a place to arouse your inspiration and desire to enjoy beauty. Holland has become my life destination since that day I finished my assignment. I believe everyone has his/her own life destination. Some of my friends say they would like to be wherever their love ones will be. I pray for them, hoping they will find a loving place to be together with their love ones. I would like to be in Holland at the end of my life journey. With God’s graces, I hope my "Beethoven" will be in my company by then. 🙂 
 
Yesterday I got an email from my friend who has completed her studies in the UK. She told me it was contradictory for her to make the decision whether she should come back to China or save money to travel Europe. I say nothing but I hope she will make her travel dream come true. I start to learn how to bless good things happen to others instead of thinking myself not having the same opportunity. Yes, perhaps that’s a good twist not to make myself become too depressive or even pessimistic. I don’t know when the opportunities will arrive, although a couple of friends have encouraged me to dream big. I can see the "American Dream" works everywhere, not only in America. You gotta think big, and strive for what you dream of with great effort! Holland has rocked my world the second time. I was intoxicated by the Dutch flowers…looking forward to the Flower Market before Chinese Spring Festival!!!
 
Lastly, let me end this entry with a poem by William Wordsworth:
 
I WANDERED LONELY AS A CLOUD
(1804)
 
I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
A host, of golden daffodiles;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.
 
Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They strethched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.
 
The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed–and gazed–but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:
 
For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.
2 thoughts on “Holland–my dreamland

  1. Wow, my gosh! Good for you, bro! I envy you so much if you really plan to visit Holland. Don\’t forget to send me a postcard or souvenir from there. ^0^

Leave a Reply

