An Essay on Women’s Day

Today is the International Women’s Day. A holiday that I have never considered it belonging to myself. 
今天是三八妇女节。一个我从来不认为属于自己的日子。
However, during the school days, we usually had half a day off on this particular holiday because most of our respected teachers were WOMEN!
然而,在读书的日子里,这一天我们通常会停课半天,因为大部分尊敬的人民教师都是妇女!
Because of this holiday, we, as WOMEN employees, are permitted to get off work two hours before normal time.
正因为这个节日,我们,作为女雇员,被允许比平时提早两个小时下班。
I am very sensitive when being called WOMAN. In fact, , I see the changes in the transit of a girl to a lady. But never would I regard myself as a WOMAN. “I am not a girl but not yet a woman” sung by Britney Spears.
我对自己被称呼为“妇女/女人/女性”非常敏感。事实上,我看到了从女孩到女子转变过程中的种种变化。但我绝对不会认为自己是“妇女/女人/女性”。《我不再是女孩但还不是女人》
Yes, I wanna stop certain growth. Probably in my mind a woman needs to take a lot of social obligations, while I am escaping the reality. Baggy clothes, tom-boy characters, anti-cosmetic, Beetles and high-tech craze…can all these shape myself as a non-woman type? 🙂
没错,我想停止某种成长。或许在我的印象中,女人需要承担许多社会责任,而我却在逃避现实。宽松的衣着、假小子的性格、排斥化妆品、疯狂于甲壳虫与高科技……所有这些都能把自己塑造成非女人类型吗?
Haha, thanks to the holiday, we were just invited to have mung bean cakes. 🙂 When it comes to these benefits, being a WOMAN temporarily is not bad.
哈哈,多亏这个节日,我们刚刚被请吃绿豆饼。:-)当遇到这些着数时(提早下班、小吃),暂时做个女人未尝不是好事。
Girl friends at my age have been changing a lot. Strange enough though, a few days ago I dreamed about my friend who is studying in the UK–She’s in an very dandy outfit, an absolute new trend in women’s apparel. By the way, that was a bad dream though. But what I wanna say is even in my dream she’s changed a great deal. In reality, it’s even out of question.
与我同龄的女朋友(不要误会,是女性朋友)都已改变了许多。更奇怪的是,几天前我发了个梦,梦中我的一位现在在英国读书的朋友穿着非常前卫的服饰,绝对是女性服饰的新潮流。顺便提提,这是一个噩梦。但我要说的是即使在我的梦里,她也发生了巨大的变化。在现实生活中,那更是毫无疑问。
Because of the changes, our distance of communication become further. We tend to look for those who have the same interests as ours.
正因为这一变化,我们交谈的距离变得更遥远。我们倾向于寻找与自己兴趣相投的人为友。
The fun of childhood is gone. We care, we care what we share with the other one, even though she is a long-time friend.
儿时的乐趣不再。我们在意,我们在乎与对方应该分享什么的东西,即使她是多年老朋友。
Probably that’s why we are no longer girls but ladies, and to some others, even women.
或许这就是为什么我们不再是女孩而是女子,对于部分人,更是女人。
Anyway, here is a heartfelt wish from this small potato who hasn’t recognize what period of growth she’s in–Happy Women’s Day!!!
总而言之,这是来自一个还认不清正处于哪个成长阶段的小人物的衷心祝福——妇女节快乐!
3 thoughts on “An Essay on Women’s Day

  1. To Connie: Congrats on your new job! Good luck and stay in touch, busy and mysterious girl!
    To Steven: Thanks for your appreciation. Yeah, how can you understand if you are not a girl? Haha… Welcome back! ^0^

  2. Since the Chinese new year, I\’ve been very busy with job interviews and probation.
    Now I\’m going to start my work in Birmingham soon.
    Take care

Leave a Reply

