Tibet Impression

Due to my busy work schedule, I have put my afterthought about Tibet on the back burner. Now I finally have some moments to relive my thoughts. However, the desire of writing seems to be not as strong as a few days ago. That’s fate, I guess. Grasp it or miss it!
 
In the past week, I spent some time searching for some sensational pictures on the Internet for my travel column in July issue. It is weird though. When you type the keyword "Tibet" on google, many pictures are not shown. I wonder if China government is afraid that google will put up some nagative information on Tibet, so they try to censor the sources by one way or another. 
 
Honestly, while I was surfing the web for the article. I reckoned quite a few travel journals written by western travelers were kinda unfavorable to the Party’s so-called "emacipation of Tibet." I had the chance to read some real life experiences of the locals–they all claim how difficult life is for them; the Han people have taken their natural resources, jobs and even the Tibetan’s religion is somehow intervened. I am not sure if these stories are full of bias, but standing from a humanitarian standpoint, I completely sympathize the Tibetans’ situation. What else can human beings achieve without consideration and affection for others? In fact, from dozens of snapshots I saw on the Internet, I was deeply moved. Those sparkling eyes on the tanned faces of the Tibetan children seem to convey some sort of hope and eagerness.
 
The landscape from Tibet is magnificent. Probably the snapshots of nature are taken by the professionals. No matter what, I was enthralled by the amazing natural scenery. If Jack London wrote a book entitled "The Call of the Wild," I would conclude my afterthought about Tibet as "The Call of Nature." It’s no doubt that if one can adapt to its high altitude, Tibet is definitely an ideal place to shun away from the earthliness. The more I see those snow-capped mountains with deep valleys and monaseries dotted somewhere in the woods, the more I can picture myself in the description of James Hilton’s "Lost Horizon."
 
It is said that you will miss a great deal if you haven’t been to Tibet in your life time. At first, I didn’t believe it. But now, I am converted. If I’ve ever have a chance to climb up to an elevation of 3500 meters, I’d rather die right there too. Let my spirit entirely fuse with the earth, the air, the snow, the rock, the sand, the river, the ashes in the glaring sun. 
Leave a Reply

