A Harsh Remark to the Snobs

I remember my friend who corrected my compositions used to say to me that I would make more irrational comments if I didn’t calm down myself before writing. I think I still am–once I get irritated, I’ll automatically spill out the beans.
I was invited to a New Year party last night. At the reception, I encountered all sorts of people, among which were the arrogant, shortsighted, ostentatious jerks and the whiney, stuck up, pompous big fat bumpkins. I certainly think they came to the wrong place.
Scene 1. I kindly stretched out my hand to shake hand with the Chinese host who invited me to the party. I, as a lady, shouldn’t be the active one to shake hand. Yet, the Chinese guy didn’t pay any attention to me AT ALL, only wanting to shake hand with his respected western teacher who was standing next to me. How rude!!!
Scene 2. I continued to be friendly with people I met. Stretching out my hand, I wanted to express my friendliness to the Chinese hostess. Disappointed again, her sight only focused directly on this big fat American fellow next to me. I was given a cold shoulder by Chinese, my own people! What a tragic discrimination!
Scene 3. At the reception entrance, staff were busy directing guests to sign in. It took at least 120sec before someone noticed me and told me where to sign my name. As soon as the American fellow entered, did he attract reporters one after another to interview him. Me? I couldn’t wait leaving this offish place. I wonder, why westerners in China always attract attention? Why can’t these small ordinary joes interview their own people like me, for example? Above all, this is a radio channel catering for locals. Why can’t we get the same attention when we are abroad? It is definitely an insult.
Chinese people have the slave trait deep in their bones. They never can get rid of this negativity. I always root for equality in human right. But look at the Chinese, how many of them will really treat Caucasian as the same as Chinese? In my own experience, whenever I am with the Caucasian friends, we are always lucky to get the most hospitable service and considerate care. Wake up, Chinese!!! Don’t discrimate your own race. It’s disgraceful.
Scene 4. One of my purposes to attend the party was to look for recordists candidates for my company. I tried to socialize with those who have “alien” faces. Some were nice and outgoing, some were completely conceited peacocks. A Scotch in kilt responsed to me imperiously,”I wish I had time to do this for you. I don’t work for the university but work in the university.” Wouldn’t be better if he just said to me he was not interested. What a pompous ass!
Scene 5. A guy from Iowa who bragged himself as a student from the so-called famous Univ. of Iowa gave me an emotionless look after I handed out my name card to him. I was curious about which state he is from. “Why do you want to know?” asked he suspectedly. When I mentioned about my purpose, he stared at me, boastful and said, “Iowan speak the standard American accent, just like people from Beijing speak pure Mandarin.” His words implied that he was the best choice for our voice recording. What a jackass! After I asked his friend for contact information, I noticed his girlfriend, another American woman, was talking about me with the jackass. Well, I said to myself, if he and his gf ever come for voice test, I would give them very low grade. Eat this!
Scene 6. The guests who attended the party were invited to visit the studio. A Chinese woman and I were first to get out of the elevator. We were supposed to be given the shoe covers first. But no, a big fat American came after us and he got the shoe covers first. What’s on these staff mind? Was it because he looked different from us? Was it because he was old enough to benefit the senior citizenship? Again, as I said before, it is a very sad situation. Chinese tend to lower their dignity to serve foreigners first. THE SLAVE TRAIT.
Well, the most genuine conversation should be the one with two Africans. I was respected. As a matter of fact, I dropped my fork by accident. The African guy was kind enough to pick it up for me. That’s no hard feeling at all. I wish someday I could visit Africa to experience their genuine, down-to-earth culture.
Leave a Reply

