About Writing

Writing is never easy. Writer’s life, I’m afraid, is much so. Thanks to all the rejection letters I received, each letter is a slap, yet an awakening slap, on my face, stirring me to keep on writing and keep on trying.

I thank all the agents who reject me. Thank them for telling me my subject is not yet mainstream. Thank them for telling me their ignorance of China. Thank them for confirming my assumption that my tale is less known to the English reading communities. Thank them for telling me my writing is not provocative like Fifty Shades of Gray or Eat, Pray, Love. Thank them for telling me I still have a chance to show my writing to English readers without them.

I can’t describe how much strength I gain from each rejection letter. I must write harder, write better. The first rejection letter helps me to think about my next project. The latest rejection letter has propelled me to complete the first chapter of my first novel. (don’t get me wrong. these rejection letters are for my previous complete work. )

Come what may, I will keep writing–writing the best story in English that a Chinese can achieve!

Leave a Reply

