Pray for 2017

Welcome to 2017, a tough year that begins with controversy and uncertainty. This entry is long overdue. When I was still, as the people say, “licking our wounds” after the night of Nov 8 last year, just a week before the Christmas holiday, my encounter with two kind strangers at a gas station on one night lifted my spirit.

Long story short. It was my first time to pump air into my auto tires as their pressure were low in wintertime. At a gas station where the free air pump stood, I watched a middle-aged woman and her daughter doing the drill–the mother was pumping air into the tire, and the daughter was monitoring the pressure number shown on a screen. The were experienced I could tell, at least the mother was. After a good 15 minutes, they were done. Just before they was about to leave, the mother came to me and asked, “Do you know how to do it?” I said frankly, “I have no idea.” Well, she began to tell me how–

Check the car manual in your car, you’ll find the tire air pressure reference there. Press the button on the pump for the desired level; give one number higher as it’ll give enough pressure to your tires.

She turned on her cell phone flashlight and helped me to check the magic number. Then off they went. Just as I was about to finish, I lost the cap that cover the air hole of an auto tire. My surrounding was poorly lit. So it was my turn to turn on my cell phone flashlight to search for the tiny black cap. It was like finding a needle in a haystack. Then another SUV approached me. The driver was so thoughtful that he turned on the high beam toward me. At first, I misunderstood it was a signal for asking me to go away. So I hurried to turn away. He jumped out of his car and asked me what I was looking for. He explained that he was hoping the high beam light could help me find what I was looking for. Aha, I found it!

I thanked him cheerfully and excused myself from standing on the very spot that he was about to park his car. On one night, I was helped twice. What are the odds? I thought this country is divided profoundly especially after the presidential election. I thought this country that I call mine for two years would be now filled with hatred and selfishness. But that night, I was helped by two warm-hearted strangers. Perhaps America is not as cruel to immigrants as some pundits believe.

President-elect Trump said only the reporters are interested in his tax returns, the public don’t care. WRONG! If only the White House under his administration would be open for public petitions like President Obama, I would create a petition for “Releasing President Trump’s tax returns for the past 10 years”. Sadly, like millions of Americans, we have to say goodbye to the very popular website We the People (https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/).

The federal government makes Jan 20, 2017 a federal holiday because of the fanfare of welcoming a new, unpopular president. I told myself, perhaps this is the few benefits given by President-elect Trump to the people–a day off. In my wildest dream, I do hope there will be another public holiday in less than four years to celebrate another Inauguration Day. Deal me in!

A thought-provoking article:

https://www.georgesoros.com/essays/open-society-needs-defending/

Photo taken on a DC street a week before Inauguration Day. The ad is posted everywhere on my way to work. I’m sure this won’t be the first time in the coming years to show people’s attitude on the streets.

img_3660

 

I was surprised to catch this mention of my alma mater on a DC metro paper.  I posted it on my Facebook immediately. #ChathamUniversityRocks

img_3652 img_3654

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In God We Trust. Pray for 2017!

Leave a Reply

